Posted by: thelocaldialect | August 10, 2010

We’re Back!

After nearly a month on the road, we’re back in Beijing!

Three train rides ended up being involved — one mammoth 45 hour trip from Beijing to Kunming, a shorter jaunt of 18 hours from Beijing to Guilin, and then a medium sized journey from Guilin back to Beijing. A few bus rides between Kunming and Yiliang and then again between Guilin and Yangshuo were also involved.

The kids were real troopers and took to the train pretty well. For the ride back to Beijing we were in soft sleeper as everything else was sold out (in fact, hard sleeper tickets from Guilin to Beijing sold out within 20 minutes of going on sale, definite shenanigans there), which was actually quite comfortable. Dylan had his DVD player and a bunch of toy cars (three of which managed to get nicked by other kids), and Annika had, well, she had me, her blanket and a place to sleep so she was happy.

My card reader is broken yet again so I can’t post pictures just yet. For some reason my CF card always bends the little bars in the reader and I have actually gone through several already so I’m not quite sure what to do at this point. I can’t directly link my camera to the computer to upload anymore since Dylan dropped it and that function stopped working. Maybe I’ll take the card and get a disk made tomorrow.

Well it is extremely late here so I’m headed for bed, but just wanted to make a quick post first. Goodnight all!


Responses

  1. Welcome back, Jessica! Glad to hear all of the travel went smoothly with the kids in tow.

    Good luck, also, with the green card! If you have questions, let me know as I’ve been through just about everything.

  2. A 45 hour train trip???? Oh my goodness. That is some extreme traveling. I’d be mental. LOL Can’t wait to see the pics.


Leave a Reply

Categories

