Posted by: thelocaldialect | April 19, 2010

I’m 30!

I had my birthday on Friday and bid my 20s goodbye. My husband and I were also able to go out for dinner (Indian food, which I never get to eat with the kids) and a movie, made possible since the arrival of our niece who is working as an au-pair for us taking care of the kiddos. It went well, much better than our previou attempt at going out to eat, when we came home to a hysterical baby and our 2.5 year old with a big old cut on the back of his neck. Cui Yu seems to have gotten the hang of things a bit more recently though and is a lot more comfortable with the kids on her own.

My birthday wasn’t ridiculously eventful, but it was nice getting out. We had planned on going out and hearing some live music but the show we’d wanted to see was cancelled and replaced with a noise music performance. I can’t stand noise music, I get enough noise in my day to day life, so we went and saw a movie instead — Clash of the Titans, in 3D no less. Let me tell you, you haven’t lived until you’ve seen a giant man-eating scorpion coming at you in 3D. That’s hardcore stuff right there.

I’m on lunch break right now and have to go back and teach a class of Indonesian and Korean students in a couple of hours so this will be a short entry. I don’t really like teaching this class very much, as for some reason the Korean students are really disrespectful, much worse than my normal Chinese students. They chatter away incessantly in Korean and I have no idea what they’re talking about. Now I know what it must feel like to be a new teacher in China and not speak the language. It bugs me that I can’t understand my Korean students because I feel like they’re probably talking about me. Not much I can do about that though, I’m not going to go and learn Korean for them, that’s for sure. My Indonesian students, on the other hand, are angels, so well behaved, quiet, respectful and happy. Still I’d take Chinese students over either, since at least I know what to expect with them.

I’m off to make a pre-class cup of coffee. Until next time ….


Responses

  1. Happy birthday! Sounds like you celebrated it in style (and without the stress, thanks to your niece)! Well, I’m raising my glass to you from the mountain west, hoping this decade will be even more exciting than your twenties.

  2. Happy birthday! I love the way you describe your birthday celebration. It sounds like a lot of fun.

    The thirties are great, I hope they’re your best decade yet. 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday for the other day!!! Hope you enjoy your 30s!!!

  4. Happy Birthday! Sorry about the Korean students, jia you!

  5. Thanks folks! It was a good birthday indeed, and I’m hoping they just get better from here on out. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

