Posted by: thelocaldialect | October 30, 2009

Happy Birthday!

Yesterday my son turned two years old!

It is hard to believe that two years ago today I was in the hospital with a brand new baby. He was so tiny, and today he’s a full fledged toddler, heading right for kid-ville.

Sometimes I get a little bit teary-eyed thinking about how fast he’s grown up. I imagine that if I’m sentimental already when he’s only 2, it is going to be absolutely heart-breaking when he’s 20. I don’t know how parents of teenagers deal with it! Luckily we have many more years before that becomes a reality, but the time does go by fast.

Baby #2 (sex still unknown) is due to make an appearance in about a month or so, so of course we’ll be able to experience babyhood anew, but it is bittersweet nonetheless watching my first baby grow so quickly.

We had a good birthday celebration, a low key dinner at home and presents. I baked a cake, from a box, but a cake nonetheless. Next year we’ll probably start doing proper birthday parties, but seeing as how Dylan himself still isn’t really fully aware of the significance of birthdays, and we don’t really know any other little kids to invite at this point, family birthday dinners work fine for us at this point.

IMG_0157[1]
The birthday loot
IMG_0138[1]
Happy Birthday Dylan!


Responses

  1. Happy birthday to Dylan!

    Can you believe you are a mother of a 2 year old and a soon to be newborn? WOW!

    Packet cakes are the best- I made packet brownies the other day and they were better than my normal brownies.

  2. Looks like he had a blast, even if he didn’t quite get why you were celebrating. πŸ™‚

    I hadn’t realized that you were so close to your due date – wow! πŸ˜€ At least you aren’t going to battling two under two, hmm?

  3. Your boy is so adorable…congratulations! And wish you a smooth labor (that’s what my sister always said to tell expectant mothers). πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

