Posted by: thelocaldialect | November 23, 2008

A Meme to Pass the Time

Sara from Sakura Flavored tagged me for this meme thing and since I haven’t posted since my son’s birthday (I think I was enjoying having him as the top post), I figured I’d oblige!

Outside my window : Outside my window I can see the high school where I work, it is that close by.

I am thinking : About dinner, and whether my husband is planning on cooking or whether it’ll be catch can catch all.

I am thankful for: In the broader sense of things, I’m thankful for my husband and my son, who bring a sense fullness to my life that I never knew before. However, in the more immediate sense I’m thankful that I only have to teach two classes tomorrow morning, which means I can come home and go back to sleep at 9:40.

From the kitchen: Hah. Just about the only thing that ever comes out of my kitchen (made by me anyhow) is macaroni and cheese.

I am wearing:: jeans, a blue sweater, and a fleece coat over my sweater. It is quite cold here.

I am creating: A blog post? I haven’t created much recently to tell the truth.

I am going: to watch some downloaded American TV shows and play video games tonight, then hit the sack early since I have to be at the school for class at 8:00 in the morning. I’m still not used to getting up so early, I haven’t had to do this since high school, and I didn’t enjoy it then and still don’t now.

I am reading: A Concise Chinese American Dictionary for Lovers, by Guo Xiaolu. It is the first novel I have ever read that is written in Chinglish (deliberately of course).

I am hoping: That we will make enough money this year to do something useful with when we move back to Kunming in 2009. I am pretty determined not to stay in Beijing any longer than is necessary, but we don’t want to go back empty handed either. So far we have been doing well with our savings, but life is unpredictable and it is hard to say what might happen between now and next Summer, when we plan to go back.

I am hearing: My husband talking online with his World of Warcraft buddy, who happens to be a college student about about 15 years younger than my husband. My husband had known this guy for months before he realized how young he was. We were both shocked! He doesn’t sound at all like an 18 year old college freshman.

Around the house : There is a load of clutter. The house never stays clean with a 1 year old around to mess things up. Today no sooner had my husband mopped the floor than Dylan decided to mash a crumbly sort of cake thing up and spread it all over the ground.

One of my favorite things: Is the fact that there is an excellent English language bookstore here in Beijing and on Wednesday I stocked up on five brand new books. I go to the bookstore once a month, and give myself a monthly book allowance. Books are among the few things that I do not feel guilty about purchasing for myself. You can never have too many books.

A few plans for the rest of the week: I have to work all week as usual, but Wednesday I’m taking the day off to take Dylan down to the embassy to apply for his passport. I always figured this process would be simple, but I was wrong. I have to provide proof that I’ve lived in the United States continuously for 5 years, at least 2 of which have to be over the age of 14. This is harder than it sounds. I had my parents bring a bunch of paperwork with them when they came to visit back in July, and when I tried to enquire with the embassy as to whether my paperwork would be sufficient or not, they just told me that only the officer conducting my interview could tell me that for sure. So that means that Wednesday might not end with a passport for Dylan, but if not, at the very least I’ll know what I’m missing as far as paperwork goes.

Here is picture thought I am sharing: This isn’t so much a thought, as it is a person. We took Dylan to get his first professional photos done at the beginning of the month. They came out pretty well! The photographer shot a whole lot of naked baby shots, which photobucket will delete if I upload them, so here’s a pick from the nudity-free section.
ka1dsc_7687

I almost forgot to tag people — I’m not very experienced with the whole meme thing. So, I tag Christelle and


Responses

  1. Yay!! Thanks for passing the torch!! Its facinating to read about the life of a foreign wife in an Asian country that isn’t Japan!

    D is soooooo handsome, you must get tons of the Chinese version of obachan (crazy old ladies) coming up to you all the time!!

    Just a little secret but I used to play WoW too ;P My ex was really into it and I caught on as well!

    But thats a story for another day!

  2. Aw, thank you for tagging me! That does look like an interesting meme, I’ll try to get to it soon. So nice to see your own name in someone else’s blog 🙂 Glad I’m only reading this a week later- don’t get to check out my favourite blogs as much these days!
    PS- Love the part about Dylan mushing the cake on the floor- lots to look forward to I see. Would be great if our two boys (and we) could meet someday!


Leave a Reply

Categories

