Posted by: thelocaldialect | October 29, 2008

Happy Birthday

One year ago today my son was born. It was 6:55 a.m. and he was 12 days late — we thought he would never arrive. But he did. My husband and I to this day marvel over how in the space of six hours our family went from two to three. On the 28th Wang Yao and I went out for lunch and took a walk around the hip little neighborhood in Kunming that we frequented at the time. That evening we even played some online games, and it wasn’t until about midnight that I thought something might be happening. I took a bath, thinking this must be false labor, doesn’t everyone have it? I couldn’t believe that after 12 days of thinking “could today be the day?” he was finally going to arrive. Two hours later, I was in the hospital at my husband’s insistence, and it was a good thing we went when we did. The labor was lightning fast, only about 6 hours total. Dylan Christopher Wang Chong Xiao was ready, after keeping us waiting for nearly two weeks, to make his appearance. My husband says he was born just as the sun came up, welcoming the new day as we welcomed him.

Newborn D
Brand New

Candle
Blowing out the candle

Happy Birthday
Happy Birthday Little One


Responses

  1. Happy Birthday Dylan!!!

    What a handsome little one year old you make.

  2. Wo he grew so fast!!!!! Happy birthday!

  3. Happy Birthday! Dylan is one of the cutest babies I’ve ever seen.

    I haven’t commented recently, but wanted to let you know that your blog is one of the few that I read religiously!

  4. haha your post almost made me cry!!!

    Happy (sort of late) Birthday Dylan!!!

  5. Happy Birthday. No cool Chinese birthday candle. 😦
    We got 2 while in China and have used one. They are quite the show.


Leave a Reply

Categories

